Centre for Creative Arts

Open Horizons at JOMBA! offers a public platform for new works by dance-makers

The JOMBA! Open Horizons Platform (formerly the JOMBA! Fringe) provides an opportunity for dance makers to present their digital/dance film work for showcasing under the auspices of the JOMBA! festival on Sunday, 29 August at 7pm.

This ‘open to application’ platform saw  a total of 29 works submitted with 17 works being selected for the festival:  10 in “long form”  of between 5 and 8 minutes and 7 in “short form” of between 1 and 3 minutes. Works were submitted by dance-makers from South Africa, Kenya, Nigeria, Madagascar and including a South Africa/Mexico collaboration. As JOMBA! is digital again this year, focus was placed on looking at the intersection of dance and film and the growing body of digital dance choreographers.

The 2021 OPEN HORIZON’s selection jury were made up of a panel of experts that included David April (director, teacher, choreographer), Tracey Saunders (project manager, writer and theatre critic), Clare Craighead (Drama and Performance Studies lecturer at DUT, a dance writer and academic) and Shanelle Jewnarain (a multi-disciplinary artist)

The top ten long form films will be screened, followed by the announcement of the top 3 in both the long and short form categories, which comes with cash prizes:  Long form: 1st: R3500, 2nd: R2500, 3rd: R1500 and for Short form: 1st: R2000, 2nd R1500, and 3rd:  R1000.

All short form films will be available to view with low data usage, on YouTube and Facebook.


The Top 3 in both categories will be available to watch on the JOMBA website with links to YouTube.


To watch Open Horizons at JOMBA! tune into YouTube: Sunday 29 August at 7pm here:


For the full programme for JOMBA! – click here

LONG FORM (in order of screening):

  1. Maulid Owino (Dance Unites) (Kenya)
  2. Mzamo Kunene (SA)
  3. Diana Gaya (Kenya)
  4. Nomfundo Hlongwa (SA)
  5. Javier Valazquez Cabrero and David Thatanelo April (Mexico/ SA)
  6. Julia Ruzyczka de Rosenwerth (SA)
  7. Mamello Makhetha (SA)
  8. Lewellyn Afrika (SA)
  9. Cebolenkosi Siphesihle Zuma (SA)
  10. Femi Adebajo and Ridwan Rasheed (Nigeria)


  1. Carrick Keating (SA)
  2. Embodied Creatives (SA)
  3. Kamogelo Molobye (SA)
  4. Judith Olivia Manantenasoa (Madagascar)
  5. Rhia Ryan (SA)
  6. Smudge Screen(SA)
  7. Vincent Ochieng Owoko (Kenya)

Latest Posts

Related Posts

VACANCY – Finance Administrator

The University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) is committed to Employment Equity withthe intention to promote representivity within the institution.Preference will be given to applicants from the

Keep Reading