Ama Ata Aidoo is a writer, professor of literature, and consultant on education and gender issues. She graduated from the University of Ghana, Legon; was a Fellow of the Advanced Creative Writing Program at Stanford University (Palo Alto, USA), and in the early 80s, a Minister of Education (Ghana). At various times while lecturing in the Department of English at the Univesity of Cape Coast, she was appointed to serve on the Board of Directors of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, the Arts Council and the Ghana Medical and Dental Council. Ama Ata Aidoo wrote her first drama at the age of 23, thrusting her to the forefront of the predominantly male African literature scene. In her debut novel, Sister Killjoy, she decries the neglect of Africa and the suffering this has caused. Aidoo has been an outspoken proponent for women's liberation and is known and admired for her forthrightness and her agonizing over the fate of Africa, past, present and the future.. She has traveled widely in connection with her concerns as an African woman, a writer and a teacher. In 1999 she received the Companion of the Star of the Volta (a Ghanaian high civilian honour), and was awarded Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from Mount Holyoke College. In 2000 she was Consultant to the Femrite Writers' Workshop in Kampala, Uganda, and is currently a columnist for The New Internationalist magazine, and Project Initiator and Chair of Mbaasem (women's words women's affairs), a foundation to establish and maintain a writers' retreat. Ama Ata Aidoo is probably the best known African woman writer. Commenting on her writing, Alice Walker remarks: "It has reaffirmed my faith in the power of the written word to reach, to teach, to empower and encourage".



The Dilemma of a Ghost, Longmans, 1965 (Drama)

Anowa, Longmans, 1970 (Drama)

No Sweetness here, Longmans, 1970 (Short stories)

Our Sister Killjoy, or Reflections from a Black-eyed Squint, Longmans, 1977 (Novel)

Someone talking to Sometime, Zimbabwe College Press, 1985 (1987 Nelson Mandela Prize for Poetry)

The Eagle and the chickens and other stories, Zimbabwe College Press, 1987. (short stories)

Changes: a Love Story, Women's Press, 1991 (Novel) (1992 Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Africa)

An angry letter in January, Dangaroo Press, 1992 (poetry)

No Sweetness here and other stories, New York Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 1995 (Short stories)

The Girl Who Can and Other Stories, (short stories)

Birds and Other Poems (for children)